Search ads by make

Quiz Archive

About Quiz #355: 1935 Egoist

Not surprisingly we received many answers from Norway, as our quiz car still resides in the "Norsk Kjøretøyhistorisk Museum" at Lillehammer. All of them identified it as the "Egoist" made by Clarin Mustad, an inventor responsible for horse nail machines, fishhook machines and even a heated toilet seat. The company is still in business and has a very interesting history (click here for pdf). When you know the quiz car is an Egoist, it's not difficult to find the year (1935). But now the trouble starts. Almost all sources quote that the Egoist is based on Fiat Topolino parts. Although there's no denying that the Egoist resembles a Topolino, we have serious doubts. Engineer Dante Giacose started thinking about the Topolino in 1935, production began in 1936 and the public introduction of the Topolino was in 1937! So the Egoist being based on Topolino parts, impossible. Older Fiat parts yes. Only one quiz entrant, Hugh Stiles, (knowingly?) evaded the Topolino, which makes him this week's winner. Congratulations Hugh, you are now part of the team of illustrious PreWarCar Quiz Jury Members. See 'Read More' for Hugh's answer and the other entrants which correctly identified the Egoist.

The winning answer by Hugh Stiles:
"The car is the 1935, Fiat-engined, Clarin Mustad Egoist. Hans Clarin Hovind Mustad actually produced only three cars: two six-wheelers (one 80 HP, the other 120 HP) between 1917 and 1919 (nicknamed The Giant, weighing 3-4 tones, equipped with a directional central headlamp, the first ever torsion spring/stabiliser struts, and exhibited in Paris in 1922) and the Egoist in 1935. He is also credited with investing a system allowing a driver to start the engine from his seat. Both models can be seen at the Norwegian Museum of Historic Vehicles in Lillehammer."

Other correct answers came from:
Arild Heie
Bjorn Ivar Aas
Norman Paskin
Robbie Marenzi (jury member)
Rolf Schau
Aleksander Langsæther
Bert Tressel
Stig Rusten

And thanks to jury member Frans Vrijaldenhoven for the quiz idea.

Add comment

Jury Member Location Information

Bart Oosterling NL
Bas de Voogd / Rutger Booy NL team
Bob Swanson USA Sports Cars & Racing Cars
Carleton Hughes USA
Ced Pearce South-Africa Ford & Cord
Chris Paulsen USA Brass Era (pre-1916) cars
David Green NZ
Dick Trenk (deceased 2010) USA US cars
Dominique Barbault F French Cars
Don Edwards USA US Classics
Eduard Hattuma NL
Fons Alkemade NL French automobiles
Frans Vrijaldenhoven NL Dutch Automobile Historian
Fried Stol NL
Hans Compter NZ
Harry Schley Germany
Henk Visscher NL Firsts in Car Industry
Ian Hayhurst Canada pre-1916 autos / early Mopar
Ingo Jost Germany German Cars
James Helms USA
João Pedro Gazineu Brazil
John Barringer UK
John Robins UK
Jon Baker Australia
José A. Gómez Argentina
Josef Kubista CZ
Joseph P. McCormick USA
Kit Foster USA US cars 1920-1960, Stanley Steamers
Kjetil Langsaether Norway
Lars-Göran Lindgren S brass era cars
Luke Chennel USA
Marc Fellman Australia
Mark Dawber NZ
Mike Clark GB Vintage Cars.
Mike Tebbett UK cyclecars
Mike Turner USA
Nicolas Boissier France
Paul Linster L French & Britsh sports cars
Peter Ransom Australia
Richard Armstrong UK
Radu Comsa Romania
Raul Valkila Finland
Reg Harris Australia Citroën and English cars
Robb Stewart USA early racing and sports cars
Robbie Marenzi Argentina
Roger Fields USA
Rutger Booy / Bas de Voogd NL team
Stuart Penketh Thailand
Theo Castricum NL US cars
Tom Chaney USA
Verner Johnson DK