Search ads by make

Quiz Archive

About Quiz #375: 1927/28 Excelsior van Rijswijk (Update: Albert 1)

About Quiz #375: Excelsior van Rijswijck. No winners

Oops. We inadvertedly gave away more clues than we wanted in the properties of the picture. Still, not too many people noticed it (we think). Thanks to Gerry Barrett for pointing this out. Rest assured it won't happen again! Marc Fellmann, Raoul Thybaut and Stuart Penketh identified the chassis correctly as an Excelsior, but the body builder posted more of a challenge. It was not Vandenplas, d'Ieteren Frères or Labourdette, but the Dutch firm of Van Rijswijk. Stuart was the only one to correctly identify that, but as a jury member he has to buy his own t-shirts! Raoul therefore is our winner, also because he made a good guess as to the year of manufacture. Please give us your details and size and we will send you a t-shirt Raoul! About the chassis Stuart tells us the following: 1922 Excelsior Adex (Albert Premier) by Compagnie Nationale Excelsior, 5346cc six-cylinder engine. Belgian car manufacturer established by Arthur de Coninck in Brussels in 1903. This new Adex was developed, in 1922, into the magnificent Albert Premier model, a 5350 cc six with an overhead camshaft operating valves whose diameter was more than half that of the cylinder bore; triple Zenith carburetors were standard. Like the 1920 Adex, the Albert Premier had cantilever rear suspension with Adex anti-roll bars, probably the first use of this feature on a touring car. In 1929, the company was sold to its competitor Impéria.

We're not quite sure about the year of manufacture of the body, but it must be later than 1922, which was the year of introduction of this chassis. Most likely it is around 1927/1928. Van Rijswijk started their coachbuilding business in 1895 in the Dutch residence of The Hague. They switched to horseless carriages at the beginning of the 20th century and became purveyors to the royal Dutch household when they bodied a Spyker for HM the Queen and a Minerva for Prince Hendrik. In 1920 they moved to nearby Voorburg. The last Van Rijswijk body was shown in 1952, but the company remained active until 1987. More info (in Dutch) and a lot of pictures can be found on the Conam website.


#1 2014-08-02 10:02
Stuart is wrong and make as many the confusion between Adex C and Albert 1er.This model have many difference with the previous model Adex C.The Albert 1er appears in september 1926 when it won the GP of Lille(Rijsel) on the Circuit des Routes Pavées.Carburettors triple Su and not Zenith but there was also with one carburettor Zenith 48 mm model HK.
Albert 1er has dubbel ignition a larger radiator (and waterpump)other badge,other hubs(rudge 100 ribs)brakes,lar ger tyres,front axle is wider, etc etc...There are only 2 survivors known of the Albert 1er.

Add comment

Jury Member Location Information

Bart Oosterling NL
Bas de Voogd / Rutger Booy NL team
Bob Swanson USA Sports Cars & Racing Cars
Carleton Hughes USA
Ced Pearce South-Africa Ford & Cord
Chris Paulsen USA Brass Era (pre-1916) cars
David Green NZ
Dick Trenk (deceased 2010) USA US cars
Dominique Barbault F French Cars
Don Edwards USA US Classics
Eduard Hattuma NL
Fons Alkemade NL French automobiles
Frans Vrijaldenhoven NL Dutch Automobile Historian
Fried Stol NL
Hans Compter NZ
Harry Schley Germany
Henk Visscher NL Firsts in Car Industry
Ian Hayhurst Canada pre-1916 autos / early Mopar
Ingo Jost Germany German Cars
James Helms USA
João Pedro Gazineu Brazil
John Barringer UK
John Robins UK
Jon Baker Australia
José A. Gómez Argentina
Josef Kubista CZ
Joseph P. McCormick USA
Kit Foster USA US cars 1920-1960, Stanley Steamers
Kjetil Langsaether Norway
Lars-Göran Lindgren S brass era cars
Luke Chennel USA
Marc Fellman Australia
Mark Dawber NZ
Mike Clark GB Vintage Cars.
Mike Tebbett UK cyclecars
Mike Turner USA
Nicolas Boissier France
Paul Linster L French & Britsh sports cars
Peter Ransom Australia
Richard Armstrong UK
Radu Comsa Romania
Raul Valkila Finland
Reg Harris Australia Citroën and English cars
Robb Stewart USA early racing and sports cars
Robbie Marenzi Argentina
Roger Fields USA
Rutger Booy / Bas de Voogd NL team
Stuart Penketh Thailand
Theo Castricum NL US cars
Tom Chaney USA
Verner Johnson DK