Press Releases

The winner of the SAHB Michael Sedgwick Award for 2017

The winner of the SAHB Michael Sedgwick Award for 2017


Anders Ditlev Clausager: Wolseley: A Very British Car (Published by Herridge & Sons Ltd)


·            Philip Porter: Stirling Moss: The Definitive Biography- Volume 1 (Published by Porter Press)

·          Darren Banks: Stephen South: The Way It Was (Published by Performance Publishing)

The SAHB is delighted to announce the winner of the Michael Sedgwick Award for 2017.

From a final shortlist of three very strong entries, the clear winner was:

Anders Ditlev Clausager, for his book:

Wolseley: A Very British Car (Published by Herridge & Sons Ltd, 2017)

£60.  Available from Amazon and many other bookstores.

This is a beautifully researched and crafted history of an important marque that has not yet had the attention it deserves from historians.

One of the judges said of the book:

‘As this meticulously researched new "tome" reveals, Wolseley were in at the very beginning of the British motoring industry, and were one of the very last of the "badge engineering" names to shuffle into quiet redundancy under British Leyland in the 1970s.

The author has brought a fastidious level of research to his subject and presents with a lightness of touch that belies the true depth of analysis and detail. The illustrations are glorious and the design of this book makes reading either as a work of study or of pleasure a joy. For those readers to whom Wolseley is "one of those funny Minis?" or the more dedicated fan who already knows about "Beetle" and the Gordon Bennett trials and Eustace Watkins et al, this book is something that delivers knowledge, entertainment and explanation page after page. I was lucky enough to have my copy a number of months ago, and have enjoyed the reading of it twice so far. I know it will become a well-thumbed title in my library, despite the weight and inevitable "heft" involved in lifting it down from the shelf!’

About the Author

Anders Ditlev Clausager was born in Denmark in 1949 and came to Britain in 1974 to study automotive design at the Royal College of Art. After graduating he briefly worked as a designer for Volkswagen but returned to Britain to work for BL cars. In 1979 he became the archivist to BL Heritage and later the British Motor Industry Heritage Trust. He held this position until 2000, when he was invited to move to a similar post at the Jaguar Daimler Heritage trust. He has written over 16 books.

The Chairman of the Judging Panel, Guy Loveridge, presented the award to Anders at the Autumn Seminar of the Society of Motoring Historians in Britain. Anders received a plaque and a cheque for £250.

The SAHB acknowledges the generous support of the Michael Sedgwick Memorial Trust in making this award.


The winner is announced and the award presented at the October seminar and AGM of the Society of Automotive Historians in Britain ( ).

Enquiries to Peter Moss, SAHB Publicity Officer and Webmaster, on This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it